Uncategorized

Fortnightly Favorites

Good Morning, friends!

I am a week off with these, but we all understand life happens. I have been busy finishing up paperwork from this past school year, getting some things sorted for this coming school year, other ministries, some translating, and normal life. What have you been up to recently?

I have not read much lately so I just have two favorites for you friends today. A book and a website – but both of these are amazing resources.

Book – Atomic Habits

Menlo Group Book Club: Atomic Habits by James Clear

Atomic Habits is a wealth of information and motivation. James Clear does such a good job of giving you tools to make habits – several different ways because we are all different in how we form habits.

The author also uses so many great real life illustrations to bring his points to life. He also introduces you to many successful people and their simple methods. I don’t know about you but I tend to be a all or nothing kinda person. If I am going to start a new task I am going to be all in but I need a balance of habits in my life and I have learned so much from this book.

The book is huge and expensive (I got a copy for free) so if it looks like a lot of money or a huge read to – I would recommend signing up for his 30 day email course for building lasting habits. It’s like the book but more condense and free. I signed up for these emails and would really recommend them first. If you like the emails you can go on and get the book to learn more.

Also, I feel I should say this is not a Christian book so their is some worldly examples. (If you are not an adult your parents may prefer you ask them before reading this book.) But all of these habits can be used in a Christians life – he gives you the tools you need to take and use in your life.

Website – Online Mentoring Program

I have mentioned Leslie Ludy on here recently and her podcast. Well, I decided a couple weeks ago to sign up for her online program. It was just $5 for a month with access to all of her online courses, all of their magazines and several other encouraging videos and posts from a few different people.

It was worth $5 – for sure. I am not sure if I will continue as I don’t normally pay money for things like this online. But, I have been taking her course on prayer and have been so encouraged in my faith. It has been a blessing to read through some of their beautiful magazines online. I look forward to taking another of her discipleship courses before the month is up.

You will be encouraged if you decide to do some of her courses. But, if you like for free her podcasts and the Set Apart Girl website and posts are also a blessing.

Have you ever read Atomic Habits or taken any courses from the Set Apart Girl website?

Quotes

“There is a general kind of praying which fails for lack of precision. It’s as if a regiment of soldiers should all fire off their guns anywhere. Possibly someone would be killed, but the majority of the enemy would be missed.” – Charles Spurgeon

“I’m too busy not to pray” – Unknown

“He who runs from God in the morning will scarcely find him the rest of the day.” – John Bunyan

“Every action you take is a vote for the type of person you wish to become.” – James Clear

“All big things come from small beginnings. The seed of every habit is a single, tiny decision. But as that decision is repeated, a habit sprouts and grows stronger. Roots entrench themselves and branches grow. The task of breaking a bad habit is like uprooting a powerful oak within us. And the task of building a good habit is like cultivating a delicate flower one day at a time.” – James Clear

Please leave comments! I love hearing from my readers!